Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Une française en Allemagne
12 février 2012

German family...in original version

Today i feel like writing in english. French is my mother tongue, but i've learned english during my last expat adventure. I now speak english everyday as my boyfriend and me are too lazy to speak only french or german. English as always been the easiest and the most natural way to communicate, even tough a native speaker would sometimes really laugh at our frenglishman! 

When i first met my boyfriend's family i couldn't speak or understand any word of german. It was my first time in germany, and i discovered a whole new world, a world which is now mine too. I didn't have some much expectations about germany. Actually,the only clichés i got on my mind were about food (potatoes and sauerkraut) and blond hair people. None of them were 100% true even tough you can't look more german-cliché than my  tall-blond-hair-blue-eyes boyfriend! I arrived in this family knowing nothing about the german way of life. My first meeting with Germain's parents took place only a few days after i arrived in germany. It was easter, and i just popped in the mega family reunion.You can't imagine how tiring it is to seat at a table for 3 or 4 hours when you re surrounded only by german speakers! Even tough I didn't have to concentrate to try to understand a word as i couldn't speak a word, i thought my head was just gonna explode. My only mission at this moment was to smile, and try to make them appreciate me without a word. Not that easy, but fortunately for me it worked well. His family just saw he was happy and didn't ask for more. 2 years later i am now able to communicate with them. I still can't follow every conversation but i can insure a minimum to survive. Sometimes i feel like i don't learn fast enough and that they could one day get tired of the girl who understands half of what is said but if i stay objective and try to ignore my impatience, i just realise that this family german or not, with or without subtitles, this family is the one! 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Une française en Allemagne
Publicité
Archives
Publicité